THE ARTIST

Françoise Dagorn is a French painter. For 20 years, she had the chance to live in wonderful places (Seychelles, Hawaii, French Polynesia, Reunion Island, California), then came back to her native country. After these moments rich in multiple discoveries, painting naturally presented itself to her to draw attention to the beauty and fragility of marine ecosystems, delivering all that she felt in contact with these tropical islands and different cultures.

Françoise Dagorn's paintings transport us to all the oceans, inviting us to travel and escape. The marine animals dance in the water to move and exude a natural elegance. Fascinated by the harmonious shapes of these marine beauties, Françoise Dagorn adds a colourful, imaginary and luminous touch. She paints the shapes of these marine animals by bringing a tonic and lively aspect thanks to the gestures of the knife blade. Once a subject inspires her, she draws it and then comes the moment to create the relief that will give it life. The paint is then applied in parallel strips, superimposing a monochrome of improbable colours giving free rein to her figurative imagination. Her self-taught approach has given her the freedom to move away from standards and fashion trends and to create her own highly recognisable style. The originality of her creations allows her to reach a very large public and has opened up an international market for her.

By sharing her love for marine animals, she wishes to raise awareness about the protection of marine biodiversity: "Creating an emotion is a first step towards awareness and this is what guides my painting".

MY ENGAGEMENT

Maui - Hawaii (USA) - February 2019

Seychelles - February 2012

Respect, harmony, generosity: here are three words that guide my commitment. These are simple emotions that make all the happiness, like the joy of my children, a walk in the scrubland where the scents of rosemary and thyme invite us to organize a party of laughter with friends.

Sometimes, Men "forget" respect and generosity ... Everyone, on a small scale, can act to live in better harmony with others. Participating in solidarity events, large or small, remains a commitment that is dear to me.

I have always loved nature and animals. With us, dogs and cats occupy our living rooms. We share our lives with them, they remind us that we have inherited a wonderful planet and that humans and animals must succeed in living in harmony.

Why did I focus my artistic inspirations on marine life? Life came from the oceans. Despite their major role in the birth of our current world, the oceans are still poorly understood and fragile. Marine animals dance in the water to move and exude a natural elegance. By drawing attention to them, through my paintings with offbeat colors, I want to make the world aware of their beauty but above all their fragility.

The University of Montpellier is ranked first in the world in ecological sciences. Developing my art in this region of scientific excellence, recognized worldwide for its research for the conservation of biodiversity, is a source of motivation. Researchers and artists, each in their own way, help to show the beauties of the world, to understand them, and to protect them for the future of our planet.



MY JOURNEY

2020

I develop a new approach, where I replace my marine animals a little more in their elements ... I tear up then glue nautical charts on canvas, then I paint on top. Who does not travel while contemplating a nautical chart?

I had planned for the first time a solo event, but 2020 is the year when the world stopped due to Covid-19 ... This period, so sad and cruel for all the victims and their families, was an opportunity for me to get together with my family, think about professional projects, listen to nature. Take a break to start again, even more convinced that we must take care of our loved ones and protect our planet.

In this year "SOULAGES" the Artothèque Montpellier and the Maison Départementale de l'Environnement have organised an exhibition centred on black, GERM'IN NOIR at the Domaine de Restinclières in Prades-Le-Lez from 29th August to 11th October 2020. I had the chance to be selected for this beautiful exhibition with about fifty artists from various horizons, where I presented my painting specially designed for the occasion: Noir Marin

Watch TV Via Occitanie's report on the Germ'in Noir exhibition, where I am interviewed at the end.

2019

It's a very eventful year! I exhibit in the best restaurant in Sète, at L'Arrivage at Jordan Yuste (Top Chef 2020), who was kind enough to host some of my paintings for a few months. Then, I participate in Printemps des Arts in Juvignac, in Place aux Arts in Montpellier, in Pyramid'Arts in La Grande Motte and finally, I am selected for the 3rd Contemporary Art Nature exhibition at the domain of Restinclières (34). I am proud to lend some of my works to the Artothèque Montpellier which gives them the chance to dress the places of many art borrowers.

Artistically, I am embarking on large canvases which offer less restrictive dimensions to my animals in freedom!

2018

New artistic period, which coincides with the construction of my small workshop in my garden! I feel the need to give life to my animals on their web. The shapes round out, take on movement, and the water takes on multiple forms. I discovered a passion for painting the eyes of marine animals, so that they appeal to those who come to contemplate them.

October 2018: my first exhibition in Pezenas (34). It was an opportunity to meet fabulous artists who are still my friends. Above all, I feel the need to alternate personal moments of creation and moments of meeting with art lovers.

2016 & 2017

I assert a deliberately refined approach, to focus attention on the colors of the fish. The backgrounds of my paintings are united, of sober color, in order to bring out the unexpected colors of the animals that I paint. I receive my first orders for tropical fish: a recognition that gives confidence to the self-taught that I am. One of my collectors offers one of my paintings to the President of the Republic of Maldives!

2015

After an assumed choice to stay at home and raise my two wonderful children, and after twenty years spent living abroad (California, French Polynesia, Hawaii, Reunion, Seychelles), I decide to recover to paint. What used to be a hobby becomes a passion. Quickly, I sell my first paintings abroad (USA, England, Maldives). It's decided, I am embarking on this activity!

2003-2006

During our first stay in the Seychelles, I discovered the practice of painting in the superb setting of the Alliance Française in Victoria. I never imagined that this discovery would guide me to a new professional life a few years later.

L'ARTISTE

Françoise Dagorn est artiste peintre française. Pendant 20 ans, elle a eu la chance de vivre dans des endroits merveilleux (Seychelles, Hawaii, Polynésie Française, Réunion, Californie), puis est revenue dans son pays natal. Après ces moments riches de découvertes multiples, la peinture s'est naturellement présentée à elle pour attirer l'attention sur la beauté et la fragilité des écosystèmes marins, livrant tout ce qu'elle a ressenti au contact de ces îles tropicales et de ces cultures différentes.

Les peintures de Françoise Dagorn nous transportent dans tous les océans, nous invitant au voyage et à l'évasion. Les animaux marins dansent dans l'eau pour se mouvoir et dégagent une élégance naturelle. Fascinée par les formes harmonieuses de ces beautés marines, Françoise Dagorn y ajoute une touche colorée, imaginaire et lumineuse. Elle peint les formes de ces animaux marins en apportant un aspect tonique et vivant grâce à la gestuelle de la lame du couteau. Une fois qu'un sujet l'inspire, elle le dessine puis vient le moment de créer le relief qui va lui donner vie. La peinture est alors appliquée par bandes parallèles, en superposant un camaïeu de couleurs improbables laissant libre cours à son imagination figurative. Son approche autodidacte lui a donné la liberté de s'éloigner des standards et des courants de mode et de créer son propre style très reconnaissable. L'originalité de ses créations lui permet de toucher un public très large et lui a ouvert un marché international.

En partageant son amour pour les animaux marins, elle souhaite sensibiliser à la protection de la biodiversité marine : "Créer une émotion est un premier pas vers la prise de conscience et c'est ce qui guide ma peinture".

MON ENGAGEMENT

Maui - Hawaii (USA) - Février 2019

Seychelles - Février 2012

Respect, harmonie, générosité : voici trois mots qui guident mon engagement. Ce sont des émotions simples qui font tout le bonheur, comme la joie de mes enfants, une balade dans la garrigue où les odeurs du romarin et du thym nous invitent à organiser une partie de rires entre amis.

Parfois, les Hommes "oublient" le respect et la générosité ... Chacun, à sa petite échelle, peut agir pour vivre en meilleure harmonie avec les autres. Participer à des évènements de solidarité, petits ou grands, reste un engagement qui m'est cher.

J'ai toujours adoré la nature et les animaux. Chez nous, chiens et chats occupent nos pièces à vivre. Nous partageons nos vies avec eux, ils nous rappellent que nous avons hérité d'une planète merveilleuse et que les hommes et les animaux doivent réussir à vivre en harmonie.

Pourquoi avoir centré mes inspirations artistiques sur la vie marine ? La vie est venue des océans. Malgré leur rôle majeur dans la naissance de notre monde actuel, les océans restent encore mal connus et fragiles. Les animaux marins dansent dans l'eau pour se mouvoir et dégagent une élégance naturelle. En attirant le regard sur eux, à travers mes peintures aux couleurs décalées, je souhaite sensibiliser le monde à leur beauté mais surtout leur fragilité.

L'Université de Montpellier est classée première université mondiale en sciences écologiques. Développer mon art dans cette région d'excellence scientifique, reconnue mondialement pour ses recherches pour la conservation de la biodiversité, est une source de motivation. Chercheurs et artistes, chacun à sa manière, contribuent à montrer les beautés du monde, à les comprendre, et à les protéger pour l'avenir de notre planète.



MON PARCOURS

2020

Je développe une nouvelle approche, où je replace mes animaux marins un peu plus dans leurs éléments ... Je déchire puis colle des cartes marines sur des toiles, puis je peins par dessus. Qui ne voyage pas en contemplant une carte marine ?

J'avais prévu pour la première fois un évènement en solo, mais 2020, c'est l'année où le monde s'est arrêté en raison du Covid-19 ... Cette période, si triste et cruelle pour toutes les victimes et leurs familles, a été l'occasion pour moi de me retrouver en famille, réfléchir à des projets professionnels, écouter la nature. Faire une pause pour mieux repartir, encore plus convaincue que nous devons prendre soin de nos proches et protéger notre planète.

En cette année « SOULAGES » l'Artothèque Montpellier et la Maison Départementale de l'Environnement ont organisé au Domaine de Restinclières à Prades-Le-Lez une exposition centrée sur le noir, GERM'IN NOIR du 29 août au 11 Octobre 2020. J'ai eu la chance d'être sélectionnée pour cette belle expo avec une cinquantaine d'artistes de divers horizons, où j'y ai présenté ma toile spécialement conçue pour l'occasion : Noir Marin

Visionnez le reportage de TV Via Occitanie sur l'expo Germ'in Noir, où je suis interviewée à la fin

2019

C'est une année très riche en évènements ! J'expose dans le meilleur restaurant de Sète, à L'Arrivage chez Jordan Yuste (Top Chef 2020), qui a eu la gentillesse d'accueillir certaines de mes toiles pour quelques mois. Puis, je participe au Printemps des Arts à Juvignac, à la Place aux Arts à Montpellier, à Pyamid'Arts à La Grande Motte et enfin, je suis sélectionnée pour le 3ème salon Art Nature contemporain au domaine de Restinclières (34). Je suis fière de prêter certaines de mes oeuvres à l'Artothèque Montpellier qui leur donne la chance de pouvoir habiller les lieux de nombreux emprunteurs d'art.

Artistiquement, je me lance vers de grandes toiles qui offrent des dimensions moins contraignantes à mes animaux en liberté ! 

2018

Nouvelle période artistique, qui coïncide avec la construction de mon petit atelier dans mon jardin ! Je ressens le besoin de donner une vie à mes animaux sur leur toile. Les formes s'arrondissent, prennent du mouvement, et l'eau prend des allures multiples. Je découvre une passion à peindre les yeux des animaux marins, afin qu'ils interpellent celles et ceux qui viennent les contempler.

Octobre 2018 : ma première exposition à Pezenas (34). Ce fut l'occasion de rencontrer de fabuleux artistes qui sont encore mes amis. Surtout, je ressens le besoin d'alterner instants personnels de création et moments de rencontre avec les amateurs d'art.

2016 & 2017

J'affirme une approche délibérément épurée, pour concentrer l'attention sur les couleurs des poissons. Les fonds de mes tableaux sont unis, de couleur sobre, afin de faire ressortir les couleurs inattendues des animaux que je peins. Je reçois mes premières commandes sur des poissons tropicaux : une reconnaissance qui donne confiance à l'autodidacte que je suis. Un de mes collectionneurs offre un de mes tableaux au Président de la République des Maldives !

2015

Après un choix assumé de rester à la maison et élever mes deux enfants merveilleux, et après une vingtaine d'années passées à vivre à l'étranger (Californie, Polynésie Française, Hawaii, La Réunion, Les Seychelles), je décide de me remettre à la peinture. Ce qui était un passe-temps devient une passion. Rapidement, je vends mes premières toiles à l'étranger (USA, Angleterre, Maldives). C'est décidé, je me lance dans cette activité !

2003-2006

Lors de notre premier séjour aux Seychelles, je découvre la pratique de la peinture  dans le superbe cadre de l'Alliance Française à Victoria. Je n'imaginais pas que cette découverte allait me guider vers une nouvelle vie professionnelle quelques années plus tard.